Changing Design Settings

May 11, 2014 5:18 pm

The Change Site Design section of the Quick Start lets you change some of the design settings for the website. This includes changing the design, the color variation, the design graphics, and text in the design. The settings you can select in this section depend on how the site design is configured by the system administrator.

Change Color button
The Change Color button lets you change the color variation of the website. When you click this button, the system displays previews of the design and lets you choose between the available color variations for the design. Once you select a color variation, the system switches to the color variation you’ve selected. The color variations usually specify the colors for graphics, backgrounds, and text on the website.

When you change color variations for the site, some of the graphics you have uploaded, such as logos, may not match the new color scheme. You will need to make changes to these graphics so they match the new colors and upload them to the site.

Note that this feature is only available if the website was created using one of the Accrisoft Freedom site builder wizards. If the website was not built with one of these wizards, you will need to contact your system administrator to change the color variation of the website.

Select New Design
The Select New Design button lets you change the design of the website. When you click this button, the system displays previews of website designs and lets you first choose the design you want, then choose the color variation of that design. Once you choose a different design and color variation, the system changes the graphics, backgrounds, and text on the website site to match the new design.

When you change site designs, some of the graphics you have uploaded, such as logos, may not match the new design either in color or in size. You will need to make change to these graphics to match the new design, then upload them to the site.

The new design may also contain design and configuration features that are different from the previous design. These features can include different graphic sections or even different modules. The features of the design are specified by the site administrator who first created the design. This means that some options that are available in one design will not be available in another design.

Note that this feature is only available if the website was created using one of the Accrisoft Freedom site builder wizards. If the website was not built with one of these wizards, you will need to contact your system administrator to change the color variation of the website.

Graphics
The Graphics section lets you select some of graphics that make up the design. Some of these graphics include logos, pictures on the home page, and theme images. The graphics that are available to configure depend on the design chosen for the website. For some graphics, you can upload new graphics or select from the sample graphics that are included in the design. For other graphics, you simply select the graphic option from a drop-down list to choose between predefined graphics that match the website design.

Text Labels
The Text Labels section lets you enter text that appears in specific parts of the website, such as the website title or copyright. When you enter text in these fields, the system automatically places the text in the appropriate section of the website and also applies the appropriate style formatting to the text.

Examples of text labels for a website include:

  • Site Title, which appears in the title bar of the browser window when viewing the website.
  • Site Headline, which appears in the header section of the website.
  • Site Tagline, which provides a brief summary or slogan of the website.
  • Copyright, which appears at the bottom of the website and displays the appropriate copyright information.

Apply Changes button
The Apply Changes button saves any changes you made to the site design and also refreshes the live website browser window so you can see the changes. If you do not click the Apply Changes button, none of the changes you make to the site design will be saved.