Backups Tab - Restoring a stylesheet to an earlier version

Apr 26, 2014 4:29 pm

The Backups tab of the Home Module displays all past versions of all page layouts and stylesheets. Similar to how System Restore works in Windows, with the Change Log tab, any change made to the Page Layouts or Stylesheets modules can be undone.

Restoring a stylesheet is non-destructive, because the current version is not automatically replaced. Instead, the restored version is created as a separate stylesheet, so you can view it and ensure that it's the correct version before replacing the current one.

This functionality is also available in the Blue Interface for Web Pages and News Articles.

To restore a stylesheet to an earlier version:

  1. Go to the Home Module, Change Log tab. On this screen is every page layout and stylesheet, how many revisions it has gone though, when it was last modified, and by which user.
  2. Locate the stylesheet you'd like to restore and click its View link.
  3. A list of each revision of the selected stylesheet will appear along with the date and time it was modified. Click the Restore link next to the revision you would like to restore.
  4. A message will appear in the header telling you that the stylesheet has been restored.
  5. Switch to the Stylesheets Module, Editor tab.
  6. From the "Stylesheets" drop-down menu near the top-right of the screen, select (Manage Stylesheets).
  7. A list of all of the site's stylesheets will appear. The restored stylesheet will have its original name with _rev#_copy appended to the end.
  8. To replace the current stylesheet with the restored version, either delete the current version or rename it.
  9. Then, rename the restored version by removing the suffix so it has its original name.
  10. You have now restored the earlier version of the stylesheet.